Licensing Requirements

Learn more about the Oregon Real Estate Agency and their Real Estate License renewal requirements and regulations.

Oregon Real Estate Agency 

The Oregon Real Estate Agency (OREA) is the department of State Government whose purpose is to provide quality protection for Oregon consumers of real estate, escrow, and land development services, balanced with a professional environment conducive to a healthy real estate market.

(Please note, you are on the state-wide REALTOR® association page, not the Agency’s site.)

The Agency’s responsibilities, administered by the Real Estate Commissioner, include:

  • Licensing and regulation of:
    • Real estate brokers, principal brokers, and property managers
    • Escrow and escrow agents
    • Real estate marketing organizations
  • Examination and education for brokers, principal brokers, and property managers
  • Course oversight of Agency-certified Oregon real estate education providers
  • Monitoring regulated activities in escrow organizations and real estate offices
  • Conducting investigations and hearings when complaints are filed against licensees, registrants, and real property developers

Contact the OREA

OREA eLicense

 

License Renewal Requirements

The Oregon Real Estate Agency mandates that all real estate licensees must take a minimum total of 30 continuing education (CE) hours per renewal period. This includes a 3 hour Law & Rule Required Course.

Review the OREA Active Renewal Tutorial 

Read the OREA CE Brochure

Rules & Requirements – The Oregon Real Estate Agency

First active license renewal

  • Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers ​before renewal date:
    • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (offered quarterly by Oregon REALTORS® – view calendar).
    • 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices​.
  • Enter continuing education course information into eLicense.
  • Renew your license in eLicense.
  • Keep your certificates of attendance for 3 years.

Active renewals after first

For all your active renewals after your first, you must:

  • Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers within 2 years before renewal:
  • Enter continuing education course information into eLicense.
  • Renew your license in eLicense.
  • Keep your certificates of attendance for 3 years.